By using this website, you consent to our use of cookies. For more information on cookies see our privacy policy page.

Text Size: a a
Home A-Z Index Subscribe/RSS Contact Us Twitter logo small white bird

The Management of the Department

The Management structure of the Department under the Secretary General Mr Aidan O'Driscoll comprises Assistant Secretaries, the Chief Veterinary Officer and the Chief Agricultural Inspector.

To view the Department's organogram please open attached file: DAFM Organogram (pdf 266Kb) 

The structure is given below including reporting Divisions:

Cecil Beamish, Assistant Secretary

  • Seafood Policy & Development
  • Aquaculture & Foreshore Management
  • Marine Engineering
  • Sea Fisheries Administration
  • Marine Agencies & Programmes

Bill Callanan, Chief Agricultural Inspector

  • Crop Policy, Production and Safety
  • Crops Evaluation and Certification
  • Plant Health and Horticulture
  • Pesticides Control
  • Pesticide Registration
  • Feedstuffs, Fertilisers, Grain and Poultry
  • Livestock Breeding, Production and Trade
  • Nitrates, Biodiversity & Engineering
  • Research Food and Codex

Martin Blake, Chief Veterinary Officer

  • Audit, Enforcement, Ethics and Organisational Governance and Special Investigations Unit
  • Veterinary Public Health Implementation
  • Veterinary Public Health Policy and International Trade
  • NDCC/Contingency response & Animal Health International
  • Non-ruminant Animal Health, Animal Welfare & Animal Remedies
  • TSE, Animal By-Products & Animal Health Surveillance
  • Veterinary Area Management - South
  • Veterinary Area Management - North
  • Ruminant Animal Health, ERAD, Premises Registration and Animal Identification
  • Animal Identification & Movement
  • Animal Health & Welfare
  • ERAD/Veterinary Medicines & Regional Office Administration

Sean Keevey,  Assistant Secretary

  • IMT Direct Farm Payment Systems
  • IMT Animal, Customer, Financials & Fisheries Systems
  • IMT Infrastructure
  • IMT Co-ordination

Kevin Smyth, Assistant Secretary

  • Finance Div & Central Procurement Unit
  • Accounts
  • Horse & Greyhound Racing, and Teagasc
  • Internal Audit Group (oversight role)
  • Agricultural Appeals (oversight role)

Colm Hayes, Assistant Secretary

  • Agricultural Environment & Structures
  • Forest Service
  • Forest Sector Development/COFORD
  • Forest Service Inspectorate
  • Forestry International
  • Organics, Market Supports & Locally Led
  • Agri Environment and On Farm Investment
  • CAP Rural Development

Brendan Gleeson, Assistant Secretary

  • Meat & Milk Policy
  • Milk & Meat Hygiene & Animal By-Products
  • Dairy Controls
  • Food Industry Development
  • Horse & Greyhound Racing

Vacant, Assistant Secretary

  • BREXIT & International Trade
  • EU Division
  • Economics and Planning
  • Climate Change and Bio-Energy Policy
  • Permanent Representation Brussels
  • Agricultural Counsellors & Attachés

Donal Sammin, Director of Laboratories

  • Dairy Science Labs
  • Pesticides, Seed Testing and Plant Health
  • Veterinary Public Health Regulation Laboratory
  • Bacteriology
  • Pathology
  • Virology
  • Regional Veterinary Laboratories and Blood Testing Laboratory
  • Biosecurity
  • Backweston Labs Admin Unit
  • Longtown Farm

Paul Dillon, Assistant Secretary

  • BPS (Inspections; Financial Control; Policy Co-ordination; Risk Management); Beef Data & Genomics Programmes; Commonages; Greening; LPIS Rebuild Project
  • BPS Operations, ANC, KT & Innovation Unit
  • CAP/Single Payment Entitlements & Financial Controls
  • Direct Payments Integrated Controls

Eilís O'Connell, Assistant Secretary

  • Accommodation. ISO, Health & Safety
  • Corporate Affairs, F.O.I., Minister's Office
  • Human Resources
  • Legal Services
  • Management Services